Our Community Reference Group began in 2012. It includes:

  • individual environmental advocates 
  • representatives from community environment groups 
  • environment-focused professionals.

The group helps us administer the Environment Protection Act 1970 and the Regulations. It gives ongoing strategic advice that helps our CEO and Governing Board deliver our organisational strategy.  

The Community Reference Group aims to improve our understanding of community concerns and environmental priorities. This helps shape our policies and activities.

The group looks for ways to:  

  • enhance our programs and projects 
  • partner with us on program and project delivery and development. 

See the group’s Terms of Reference [PDF] for more information about the Community Reference Group.

Community Reference Group members

Nicholas Aberle – Campaign Manager, Environment Victoria

Wendy Farmer – President, Voices of the Valley

Alison Kelly – Centre for Sustainability Leadership

Andrew Kelly – Yarra Riverkeeper

Harry von Moorst – President, Western Region Environment Centre

Geoff McFarlane – President, Bellarine Landcare Group, Victorian Landcare Council

Tony O’Hara – Suez Hallam Rd and Taylors Rd Community Reference Groups

Ray Radford – Friends of Merri Creek 

Brendan Sydes – CEO, Environmental Justice Australia

Ken Winkel – Doctors for the Environment Australia

Find out more about reference groups

How EPA works with reference groups

Water Industry Reference Group

Small Business and Manufacturing Reference Group 

Agriculture Reference Group

Construction and Infrastructure Reference Group 

Major Industries Reference Group

Waste and Recycling Reference Group

Government Reference Group

Reviewed 1 April 2020