EPA investigates environmental issues affecting various communities around Victoria.

These issues can include:

  • fire
  • pollution
  • noise
  • odour
  • land contamination
  • illegal waste disposal (illegal dumping).

We provide updates on environmental investigations and our monitoring response.

EPA regions

Map of EPA regions

Download a detailed version of the map of all EPA regions (PDF 2.9MB) or of the map of metropolitan regions (PDF 476KB).

  • Northern Metropolitan Region

    Our Northern Metropolitan Region covers:

    • Moreland City Council 
    • Darebin City Council 
    • Yarra City Council 
    • Boroondara City Council 
    • Banyule City Council 
    • Manningham City Council 
    • Whitehorse City Council 
    • Maroondah City Council 
    • Hume City Council 
    • City of Whittlesea 
    • Nillumbik Shire Council 
    • Yarra Ranges Shire Council. 
  • Western Metropolitan Region

    Our Western Metropolitan Region covers:

    • Melbourne City Council 
    • Maribyrnong City Council 
    • Moonee Valley City Council 
    • Brimbank City Council 
    • Hobsons Bay City Council 
    • City of Melton 
    • Wyndham City Council. 
  • Southern Metropolitan Region

    Our Southern Metropolitan Region covers:

    • City of Stonnington 
    • City of Port Phillip  
    • Glen Eira City Council 
    • Bayside City Council 
    • Monash City Council 
    • Knox City Council 
    • City of Kingston 
    • City of Greater Dandenong 
    • City of Casey 
    • Frankston City Council 
    • Mornington Peninsula Shire 
    • Cardinia Shire Council 
    • French Island.
  • South West Region

    Our South West Region covers:

    • City of Greater Geelong 
    • Borough of Queenscliffe 
    • Surf Coast Shire 
    • Moorabool Shire Council 
    • Golden Plains Shire Council 
    • Colac Otway Shire
    • City of Ballarat
    • Corangamite Shire
    • Pyrenees Shire Council
    • Ararat Rural City Council
    • Moyne Shire Council
    • Warrnambool City Council
    • Southern Grampians Shire Council
    • Glenelg Shire Council. 
  • North West Region

    Our North West Region covers:

    • Macedon Ranges Shire Council 
    • Hepburn Shire Council 
    • Mount Alexander Shire Council 
    • Central Goldfields Shire Council 
    • City of Greater Bendigo 
    • Campaspe Shire Council 
    • Loddon Shire Council 
    • Gannawarra Shire Council 
    • Swan Hill Rural City Council 
    • Buloke Shire Council 
    • Northern Grampians Shire Council 
    • Horsham Rural City Council 
    • Yarriambiak Shire Council 
    • Mildura Rural City Council 
    • Hindmarsh Shire Council 
    • West Wimmera Shire Council.
  • North East Region

    Our North East Region covers:

    • Mitchell Shire Council 
    • Murrindindi Shire Council 
    • Mansfield Shire 
    • Shire of Strathbogie 
    • Benalla Rural City 
    • Rural City of Wangaratta 
    • Greater Shepparton City Council 
    • Moira Shire  
    • Indigo Shire Council 
    • City of Wodonga 
    • Alpine Shire Council 
    • Towong Shire.
  • Gippsland Region

    Our Gippsland Region covers:

    • Bass Coast Shire Council 
    • South Gippsland Shire Council 
    • Baw Baw Shire Council 
    • Latrobe City Council 
    • Wellington Shire Council 
    • East Gippsland Shire Council.  

Active environmental issues

Reviewed 10 November 2020