Programs and initiatives

Lower Murray Water sustainability covenant

On 28 May 2007 EPA and Lower Murray Water entered a 3 year Sustainability Covenant. The Covenant outlines Lower Murray Water and EPA’s commitment to work together on resource efficiency, water reuse and environmental sustainability, and encourage others to do the same.

Lower Murray Water Sustainability Covenant (PDF 852KB)

Lower Murray Water’s operation extends from Kerang to the South Australian border taking in the municipalities of Mildura, Swan Hill and Gannawarra. They provide the region with urban water and wastewater services, treatment and effluent disposal services, river quality water to stock, garden and irrigation customers, along with the collection and disposal of subsurface irrigation drainage water.

The Covenant follows work Lower Murray Water and EPA Victoria completed under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that was signed in January 2005. The MOU provided a commitment by both parties to work together to investigate cleaner production opportunities to reduce discharges of water and critical parameters from Lower Murray Water’s industrial customers. The Lower Murray Water Covenant aims to extend beyond the scope of the original MOU and further harness innovation within the district serviced by Lower Murray Water. The focus is supporting the efforts of Lower Murray Water’s business in the context of a changing climate and the challenges that the water industry faces in a freshwater constrained state. The Covenant also commits EPA and Lower Murray Water to combine Lower Murray Water's existing EPA licences into a single Corporate Licence. This will reduce administrative costs for both parties and strengthen their joint focus on supporting innovation.

Page last updated on 19 Jul 2012