Information on this page is not current law. It details new laws coming into force on 1 July 2020 under the Environment Protection Act 2017.

Permissions work alongside the general environmental duty, ensuring performance standards and conditions are met across a range of activities. There are three tiers of permissions based on the level of risk to human health and the environment: 

  • Licences for high-risk prescribed activities.  
  • Permits for medium-risk prescribed activities.  
  • Registrations for low-risk prescribed activities.  

This risk-based approach means we can target different levels of risk with the right balance of permissions and conditions. Our permissions scheme outlines:  

  • your role, as the permission holder, in ensuring compliance and preventing harm  
  • what we consider when assessing an application for a permission  
  • how permissions work to manage the risks related to prescribed activities.  

There are specific activities requiring other approvals and authorisations. You will be able to view details about permissions we issue on the Public Register (currently under development).  

Permissions and other approval tools

Reviewed 18 March 2020