The Victorian Government is installing an air quality sensor network in regional Victoria.

The Regional Sensor pilot is a project to monitor and report on the level of smoke in up to 50 regional Victorian towns. It will be measured in the form of PM2.5 particles in the air.

The network will help Victorians understand air quality in their area so they can reduce exposure to smoke and look after their health.

Air quality information will be updated hourly on EPA AirWatch. The information from the sensors will indicate whether smoke levels are good, moderate, poor, very poor or extremely poor in the area.

The project will also help improve our understanding of smoke in regional Victoria and the need for associated management actions and policy development for regional Victoria.

Sensor locations

Sensors will be located in:

Ararat, Bacchus Marsh, Bairnsdale, Beechworth, Benalla, Bright, Broadford, Camperdown, Castlemaine, Chiltern, Cobden, Cobram, Colac, Daylesford - Hepburn Springs, Drysdale - Clifton Springs, East Warburton, Gisborne, Hamilton, Heathcote, Heywood, Kerang, Kinglake, Kyneton, Lakes Entrance, Lancefield, Leongatha, Lorne, Macedon, Maffra, Mallacoota, Mansfield, Myrtleford, Orbost, Ouyen, Portland, Rutherglen, Sale, Seville, Shepparton – Mooroopna, Stawell, Sunbury, Swan Hill, Torquay – Jan Juc, Wallan, Warburton, Warragul, Wodonga, Wonthaggi, Yarra Glen and Yarrawonga.

Reviewed 22 June 2021