On this page

Professor Kate Auty - Chair

Kate is the Chair of the EPA Board.

Kate is a Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne, a Director of the Urban Climate change research Network's Oceania Hub, and a member of the writing team with Future Earth Autralia and the Australian Academy of Science.

She has extensive experience with environmental and climate issues. This includes as the Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment in the Australian Capital Territory.

Kate is a member of the Victorian Bar. She has worked extensively as a magistrate and coroner.

Kate continues to volunteer with community environmental and sustainability groups in north east Victoria.

Greg Tweedly – Deputy Chair

Greg is the Governing Board’s Deputy Chair, and has more than 20 years’ experience in regulation, governance, risk, audit and finance.

As CEO of WorkSafe Victoria for nearly 10 years, Greg was responsible for the regulation of workplace safety in Victoria.

Greg is currently a non-executive director of Melbourne Health, and Chair of the Personal Injury Education Foundation.

Monique Conheady

Monique is the Chair Commissioner at Commercial Passenger Vehicles Victoria, and Independent Chair of JET Charge Pty Ltd.

Previously, she was co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of Flexicar and held senior management roles at Hertz Australia after it purchased Flexicar.

Monique is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Centre for Sustainability Leadership.

Graeme Ford

Graeme is the CEO of the Game Management Authority. He has more than 20 years’ experience advocating for rural and regional communities, having been the CEO of the Victorian Farmers Federation.

For the past 20 years Graeme has engaged with various government regulatory bodies on the design of regulatory regimes affecting the agricultural sector. He has held director roles with the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show and FarmConnect – a not-for-profit company providing charitable support to the agriculture sector.

Emeritus Professor Joan Ozanne-Smith AO

Joan is the Head of Injury Prevention Research at the Department of Forensic Medicine at Monash University.

She is a non-executive director of the Australian China Alumni Association and has previously been a member of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT).

Joan has qualifications in medicine, public health and sociology, a research doctorate in injury epidemiology and is a Fellow of the Australasian Faculty of Public Health Medicine. She conducts interdisciplinary research and develops epidemiological data systems in Australia and internationally. She has co-edited several World Health Organization global reports.

Joan was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the 2016 Australia Day Honours List. This was for her distinguished service to public health in the area of accident and injury prevention, to forensic medicine, and to higher education as an academic.

Dr Ross Pilling

Ross is a non-executive director of Note Printing Australia and Kotzur Pty Ltd, and Chair of Swinburne University’s Industry Research Advisory Committee. He is an Executive Mentor on the faculty of Merryck & Co.

Dr Pilling’s senior executive career with leading multinational companies BASF and BOC included General Manager and Managing Director roles in Asia, Australia and Europe. He was formerly the Deputy National President of the Australian Industry Group, and a longstanding board member of the Plastics and Chemicals Industry Association.

Ross is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. He was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Engineering by Swinburne University of Technology in 2016.

Kay Rundle

Kay is the Director and an Executive Coach at Kay Rundle and Associates, Chair of the Public Transport Ombudsman and Chair of Western Leisure Services.

Kay is an experienced Chief Executive Officer with over 15 years’ experience leading three local government organisations (Maribyrnong, Greater Geelong, and Port Phillip).

Ms Rundle holds a Bachelor of Social Work from the Phillip Institute of Technology, Masters of Business from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and Executive Coaching Level I, II and III from the Institute of Executive Coaching and Leadership.  She is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and won a SACS Executive Leadership Award in 2006.

More about governance

Our Chief Environmental Scientist

Our strategy

Annual reports and plans

Our scientific expertise

Organisational structure

Our Minister


Gift, benefits and hospitality

Reviewed 9 February 2022