The Environment Protection Act 2017 introduced a three-tier permissions framework. This ensures the proper management of risks an activity poses.

More information about activities that need a permission is available in Schedule 1 of the regulations.

  • Registrations

    Registrations are for low-risk activities. They’re automatically granted on application and have standard conditions.

    The most important function of registrations is to provide a way for the waste from small waste businesses to be legally received.

    Registrations also apply to some new activities such as: 

    • dry cleaning
    • some waste transport and temporary asbestos storage
    • waste acid sulfate soils identified for treatment or clearing-up.
  • Permits

    Permits are for moderate-risk activities, or activities which are high-risk but are not as complex.

    The new Regulations identify a range of activities that need a permit. This includes approvals for activities which were previously required under other instruments, including State Environment Protection Policies.

    The permit tier also includes a small number of new activities such as medium-sized waste and resource recovery activities. 

  • Licences

    Licences are reserved for the highest-risk activities which need customised EPA assessment and conditions.

    Large waste and resource recovery facilities now need a licence. This is because of the significant risk combustible recyclable waste storage poses at large sites.

Reviewed 12 August 2022